Frugal Breakfast Sandwiches

We live on a super tight budget and I am always looking for ways to save money. Earlier at Walmart I bought up some bread on the clearance rack. It was getting close to the expiration date which doesn’t bother me at all. I bought some sliced cheese to add to the eggs we had at home to make breakfast sandwiches. Each pack of bread had 6 ciabata rolls. I bought two packs so I could make a total of 12 sandwiches.
2015/01/img_8801.jpg
I cooked the eggs (which were free because we bartered for them since our chickens are not laying yet) individually and let them cool. Then I assembled the bread and cheese. Each sandwich gets a roll, one slice of cheese and one cooked egg. I wrapped them in plastic wrap and put them in the freezer.
2015/01/img_8802.jpg

I was sure to get the plastic wrap that is microwaveable. I hate microwaving in plastic, but we don’t have paper towels in the house so I am not sure of a better way to microwave these babies. I am completely open to non plastic suggestions. We will try nuking them out of the plastic but I am afraid it wont work as well…
2015/01/img_8800.jpg

Price wise, these sandwiches are super cheap. I got two bags of rolls for $1.79 each, which comes to 30 cents a roll. Cheese came out to 12 cents a slice. Considering how the eggs were free, the sandwiches only cost $.42 each. So if hubby eats two for breakfast its like our own personal dollar menu!
2015/01/img_8803.jpg

Leave a Reply

