The Camper is Home

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d7c/64190179/files/2015/01/img_8674.jpg Once the land was dried out enough to handle the weight of the camper and truck, we hooked everything back up. The “road” from my aunt and uncles house is narrow and curvy. It is fine for vehicles but incredibly tight for a truck and a 34 ft camper. We tried multiple times to back the camper up, but it just wasn’t going to work without either the truck or camper ending up in the ditch. I began questioning how we could get THIS far to not be able to park it. My uncle had the idea to hook up his Tahoe since it had a smaller wheel base and tighter turn radius. Lots of hand wringing and white knuckles later my uncle was finally able to wedge the camper into the rv pad. I can not explain the relief I felt at having my home where it needed to be. The pipes are froze but at this point I don’t even care. I have electricity to run heat. I can sleep in my own bed and be surrounded by my things again. We got the camper settled on Sunday. Monday morning I took hubby to his training academy. He will be at academy mon-fri for a few weeks with no communication. I will be taking this time to get things settled and take care of moving things like vehicle registration, changing my drivers license, etc. We left hubby’s motorcycle in Texas so we are a true one car family for now. We are missing most of our “stuff” and will have to make a couple more trips to Texas but that will come in time. Right now we need some down time to destress from the move!

Leave a Reply

