Building a Garden Bed

photo As previously mentioned, our apartment has a small side yard.  We have been letting the dogs enjoy it and will continue to do so.  They will just have less space.  On my day off, I went to Home Depot and bought supplies to build a garden bed.  Hubby and I love gardening, and eating our very own fresh produce.  Hopefully this week I will get some lettuce planted.  We are currently having crazy weather!  One day we have an ice storm and the next day is 70 degrees.  Welcome to Texas!  I am chomping at the bit to get a full garden going, but know I should wait and only plant what won’t freeze right now.  I can’t wait to see Hubby’s expression when he gets home and sees a garden bed in the yard!

After building the beds, I lined them with newspaper (the paper will compost over time and hopefully keep the weed count down) before filling with soil.  Most home improvement stores will sell their damaged bags for a discount.  Hubby managed to score quite a few bags at half off from Home Depot.  We typically mix up a variety of soil bags to get a good mix.  We also add our version of “compost”.  I threw egg shells, coffee grounds and expired veggies as a base layer that will break down as well.

photo (1)

Leave a Reply

